Kat Frankie

Kat Frankie is a time traveller. Not in a nostalgic, romanticized sense, nor with regard to her sound; her movement between past and present is not an aesthetic thing. It’s more the grandeur of her perspective: Kat Frankie traces the loose ends of history and follows them into the present, uses them to decisively illuminate the political turmoil of our days, understands the connections, the ever-renewing catastrophes – and thus directs her knowing gaze towards the future. What arises from these ruminations, she translates into text and music. Time travel more as poetry, then. Or: a visitation. In this regard, her new album is also the work of an evolved observer, an empathetic thinker, a fierce narrator. But above all: a great songwriter. The 43-year-old seems to look down upon time in her craft, directing her concerned gaze towards human interrelations.

 

But enough abstraction. First and foremost, Kat Frankie is undeniably a singer. She says so herself: “I was physically built to sing”. And despite the sorrowful, melancholic tone of her music, her singing also contains a sense of well-being, a corporeality. Perhaps a sense of the importance of her own agency as well. In any case, it is an addiction. A way of life. In the nine tracks that feature on Shiny Things, she asks her herself more than ever what change art can bring; a reflection that has led to her printing her lyrics for the first time in her career; lyrics always written in tandem with her music. And more than ever, her words speak to a critical Zeitgeist, questioning the conditions of our existence and own significance to it. The writing process itself revealed a unique relationship between beauty and sadness, between floods of light and darkness – “like walking on broken glass”, she says; the music providing hope, while the lyrics track a mournful gaze. There is no agenda behind it, however; the song itself reveals its needs and possibilities.

 

Kat Frankie’s songs, which can be perfectly described as defiant pop music, are all elevated by something. This is already discernible in the titular opener, “Shiny Things”, a powerfully-voiced, densely-orchestrated treatise on the inseparable relationship between beauty and decay. Here, the Australian who has lived in Berlin since 2004, reflects light off surfaces already rusting; subtly addressing the in-between moments where past and future converge. The album charges dynamically onwards with the sizzling “Spoiled Children, a denouncement of white privilege that brings to mind early Interpol. The focus on guitar sound is also evident in the “The Sea”, a song-turned-attack on the misanthropic arrogance of political demagogues; here the guitar is reminiscent of the late 90s, its inflection both heavy and supremely subtle. “Be Like Water” then  follows as a concrete plan of action for revolutionary practice, letting the voices of those involved in the mass protests in Hong Kong in 2019/2020 ring out. The dramaturgical evolution of Kat Frankie’s songwriting is also tangible in “Riverside”, a song driven by a tremendous groove that swings up to envelop you, caress your ears (the soul!) tenderly and gently and with unspeakable intensity. The music relaxes somewhat with the questioning “Natural Resources”, only to emphatically condemn the exploitation of bodies and resources under capitalism; these things seen as only holding worth if they bring in money. With “Wrong”, Kat Frankie’s enthusiasm for Radiohead’s 1995 album “The Bends” becomes apparent, the multi-instrumentalist light-footedly dancing through a dense compositional work reminiscent of the Brits’ furtive magnum opus. In light of the intensity that brews amidst all this, “Love”, sung as a ballad-like duet with Fama M’Boup, provides a not-inconsiderable sense of consolation (in two respects: for the album and quite existentially), in that it knows we do not have to go through it alone. The album ends with “Road Movie”, bringing us back from dream to reality like a spaceship gently touching down again… but then perhaps not: “The dream makes the dreamer, the vision the king / The structure of things undone / Stare at the ceiling, sit on the bed / Waiting for sleep to come“. With these parting words from her best album to date, Kat Frankie leaves us longing to remain in the state of the past 34 minutes. The solution? Press repeat!

 

If “Shiny Things” could speak for itself, it might say: I am music; I am the dance that the ghosts of the past perform amongst us, invisible and yet here. I am the sound of nostalgia yearning for a better future, the realisation of which the past has already destroyed. I am the visitation of the present; I am both grief and hope. In this way, the nine tracks that make up Kat Frankie’s “Shiny Things” can be seen as protest music, albeit of the melancholic kind; one where an overlooked realm of revolt is put into play; a polyphonic, understatedly-orchestrated mourning for something that cannot be and yet exists in this embrace of phantom pain, perhaps revealing itself only in song. And there they are again: the ghosts of revolutions rising up through this album, inescapable. Kat Frankie has dedicated these songs to them. They are full of beauty and dignity.

 

–Hendrik Otremba

 

© 2022 GROENLAND RECORDS Imprint & Data Security

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Kat Frankie

Kat Frankie ist eine Zeitreisende. Nicht im Sinne einer nostalgischen Verklärung. Auch nicht im Hinblick auf ihren Sound. Nein, ästhetisch schlägt sich ihr Wandern zwischen Vergangenheit und Zukunft nicht nieder. Es ist mehr die Erhabenheit ihrer Perspektive: Kat Frankie spürt den losen Enden der Geschichte nach, verfolgt sie in die Gegenwart, durchleuchtet an ihnen präzise die politischen Wirren unserer Tage, begreift die Zusammenhänge, die Fortschreibungen der Katastrophen – und richtet so ihren wissenden Blick auf die Zukunft. Die Stimmungen, die ihr in diesem Durchleuchten zukommen, übersetzt sie in Text und Musik. Zeitreisen also mehr im Sinne einer Dichtkunst. Oder: einer Heimsuchung. Ihr neues Album ist somit auch die Arbeit einer gewachsenen Beobachterin, einer einfühlsamen Denkerin, einer wütenden Erzählerin. Vor allem aber: einer großen Songwriterin. Die 43-jährige scheint in ihrem Kunsthandwerk über der Zeit zu stehen, scheint von dort ihren sorgenvollen Blick auf die Verflechtungen des menschlichen Handelns zu richten.

 

Doch genug der Abstraktion. Vor allem nämlich ist Kat Frankie – und das ist hier ganz konkret spürbar – eine Sängerin. Das sagt sie auch selber: »Ich wurde physikalisch gebaut, um zu singen.« Und im Gesang steckt, trotz der sorgenvollen, melancholischen Färbung ihrer Musik, auch ein Wohlgefühl, eine Körperlichkeit. Vielleicht auch – in einem positiven Sinne – eine Ahnung der eigenen Bedeutung als handelndes Wesen. Ohnehin, sie ist süchtig danach. Das Singen mag ihre Art zu leben sein. Mehr denn je fragt sie sich in den neun Stücken auf »Shiny Things« dabei, was Kunst verändern kann. Eine Reflexion, die etwa dafür gesorgt hat, zum ersten Mal in ihrer Laufbahn die Texte abzudrucken, die immer zeitgleich und im Zusammenspiel mit der Musik entstehen. Mehr denn je nämlich sprechen ihre Worte an einem kritischen Zeitgeist mit, fragen nach den Bedingungen unseres Zusammenlebens und nach der eigenen Bedeutung darin. Im Schreibprozess schon ergab sich dabei ein einzigartiges Verhältnis von Schönheit und Traurigkeit, von Lichtfluten und Dunkelheit. »Like walking on broken glass«, sagt sie. Die Musik spendet Hoffnung, die Texte folgen einem sorgenvollen Blick. Doch dahinter steckt keine Programmatik: das Lied selbst zeigt, was es braucht, was es sein kann.

 

Kat Frankies Songs, die sich durchaus einer eigensinnigen Popmusik zuschreiben lassen, sind dabei alle getragen von etwas, das sie erhebt. Schon im titelgebenden Opener »Shiny Things« ist das ganz deutlich erkennbar: In einer stimmgewaltigen, dicht orchestrierten Abhandlung über das untrennbare Verhältnis von Schönheit und Verfall, lässt die seit 2004 in Berlin lebende Australierin Lichtreflexionen von Flächen aufblitzen, die bereits Rost ansetzen, wendet sich feinsinnig den Augenblicken des Dazwischen zu, in denen sich Vergangenheit und Zukunft berühren. Dynamisch geht es weiter, mit einem nach vorne brutzelnden »Spoiled Children«, das im Gewand früher Interpol die Dekadenz weißer Privilegien anprangert. Auch im folgenden »The Sea«, einem Song-gewordenen Angriff auf die menschenfeindliche Arroganz politischer Demagogen, zeigt sich der Fokus auf einen Gitarrensound, hier in Reminiszenz an die späten 90er Jahre, heavy und gleichzeitig äußerst feinsinnig gespielt. »Be Like Water« dann ist konkrete Handlungsanweisung für die revolutionäre Praxis, lässt die Menschen erklingen, die in den Massenprotesten in Honkong in den Jahren 2019/2020 ihre Stimme erhoben. Wie sich Kat Frankies Songwriting dramaturgisch perfektioniert hat, zeigt auch »Riverside«: Der Song folgt einem ungemein treibenden Groove, schaukelt sich hoch, ist irgendwann überall um einen herum, begegnet den Ohren (ach, der Seele!) zart und sanft und mit unsagbarer Intensität. Im fragenden »Natural Resources« dann wird es musikalisch wieder entspannter, um jedoch stimmgewaltig die Ausbeutung von Körpern und Ressourcen anzuklagen, die wir im Kapitalismus erfahren: Ein Wert wird ihnen gegenüber nur eingeräumt, wenn sie Geld bringen. Mit »Wrong« spätestens zeigt sich Kat Frankies Begeisterung für das 1995er Radiohead-Album »The Bends«, wenn die Multi-Instrumentalistin leichtfüßig tänzelnd eine kompositorische Dichte aufführt, wie sie seit dem heimlichen Opus magnum der Briten nur noch selten zu hören war. Betrachtet man die Tiefe, die zwischen all dem entsteht, liefert »Love« (im doppelten Sinne: für das Album und ganz existentiell) dann eine nicht unerhebliche Beruhigung, weiß das balladesque Stück doch, gesungen im Duett mit Fama M’Boup, dass man in all dem nicht allein sein muss. Das Album endet mit »Roadmovie«, das uns der gemächlichen Landung eines Raumschiffes gleich von dieser Traumreise zurück in die Wirklichkeit holt … und dann wieder auch doch nicht: »The dream makes the dreamer, the vision the king / The structure of things undone / Stare at the ceiling, sit on the bed / Waiting for sleep to come« Mit diesen letzten Worten ihres bisher besten Albums lässt Kat Frankie in uns die Sehnsucht entstehen, sich in den Zustand der vergangenen 34 Minuten zurückzuversetzen. Also: repeat!

 

Wenn »Shiny Things« über sich selbst sprechen könnte, würde es vielleicht sagen: Ich bin Musik. Ich bin der Tanz, den die Geister der Vergangenheit zwischen uns aufführen, unsichtbar und doch präsent. Ich bin der sehnsüchtige Klang der Nostalgie nach einer besseren Zukunft, deren Erfüllung schon in der Vergangenheit zerstört wurde. Ich bin die Heimsuchung der Gegenwart. Ich bin Trauer und Hoffnung zugleich. So könnte man Kat Frankies neun Stücke auf »Shiny Things« auch als Protestmusik beschreiben. Als eine Art melancholische Protestmusik jedoch, die eine wenig beachtete Sphäre der Auflehnung ins Spiel bringt: das vielstimmige, feinsinnig orchestrierte Betrauern von etwas, das nicht sein kann und doch in diesem umarmenden Phantomschmerz, der sich vielleicht nur im Song offenbart, existiert. Und da sind sie dann auch schon wieder: die Geister der Revolutionen, die durch dieses Album steigen. Die Menschen werden ihnen nicht entgehen können. Also gilt es, ihnen diese Musik zu widmen. Kat Frankie hat sie dafür geschrieben. Sie sind voller Würde und Schönheit.

 

 

–Hendrik Otremba

 

 

 

© 2022 GROENLAND RECORDS Impressum & Datenschutz

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close